Some News About The International Jurist

It is time to share some news regarding this blog, for those who are interested.

First of all, I have been trying for almost a week now to transfer The International Jurist to its own web host with WordPress.org. The result I have so far is here: http://www.theinternationaljurist.org. I am not nearly as happy with it as I thought I would be, the theme not corresponding to the one available here on WordPress.com, and the whole transfer/setting up was a lot more complicated than I expected.

As matter of fact, if there are WordPress(.org) experts among readers of this blog, please contact me. I have a few questions for you.

Until I get theinternationaljurist.org working as it should, the blog will remain here hosted at wordpress.com.

On another note, my internship with the Coalition for the International Criminal Court has, regretfully, come to an end. It was a great experience in The Hague, and I consider myself very luck to have been able to work closely with the International Criminal Court, to have had the chance to get a global view of the issues facing the recently created Court, and of course, to work with such wonderful people at the CICC, to whom I wish all the best in confronting the difficult challenges 2011 is sure to offer.

The reason I am mentioning this here is because my departure from the CICC and The Hague will without a doubt have an impact on my writing. For the past 6-8 months, I have written a lot on the ICC. The reasons for that are 1) because I believe in writing about what you know, and 2) that my work at the CICC gave me the opportunity to access public but little-covered information that I believed would be of interest to readers.

But now that I am back in Lyon, the content is going to be inevitably far less ICC-centric than it has been these past months. I will of course continue to nurture an interest in what happens at the ICC, and in the field of international criminal justice in general, but I also want to write about other subjects, and perhaps focus a bit more on my other center of interest: the legal issues arising in counterterrorism policy and the ways international law needs to adapt to better apprehend the emergence of regional or global non-State armed groups.

In any case, stay tuned for more!

  1. #1 by CRY ME AN ONION on 2 February 2011 - 11:26

    I checked your blog on “org’ and it looks fine and your new interest in counterterrorism is interesting but privy to inside knowledge available to a few.
    However, I like all the posts on your blog. Specially the one concerning Africa, where I live now.
    Since you are back in France maybe you should look at the association between our good president Sarkozy and the dictators in Africa and the Arab world. Quite a large numbers of African leaders have nice real-estate and bank account in France from money looted from their government coffers.
    Cheers and don’t stop.

  2. #2 by archipirata on 3 February 2011 - 18:53

    Good luck with the transfer – they don’t make it easy.

  3. #3 by GoingwitheWind on 5 February 2011 - 11:30

    Keep writing!

  4. #4 by Xavier Rauscher on 6 February 2011 - 18:11

    They indeed do not make it easy. I suspect it is because they have a certain interest in keeping people on WordPress.com – where additional services, such as having your own domain name, etc. comes at a fee.

    I’m still struggling over there to make the sidebar look like the one either at wordpress.com or the one in the Fusion theme demo (see here), but once that done, I should be fully transferred. Again, if anyone has any tips to send my way, I’ll take them.

    Thanks for the encouragment!

Leave a Reply

